

Resolution F16-1: Rename the Tecolote Memorial Garden to the Kumeyaay Garden

Author: Shannan Conlon, Chair of the Inclusion & Diversity Committee Sponsoring Senator: Greyson Taylor October 13, 2016

Whereas, the University of San Diego is located upon land once inhabited by the Kumeyaay People, a Native American Nation that still exists today in the San Diego area.

Whereas, it is our responsibility as ethical leaders to recognize marginalized voices and work to empower their community and create positive change.

Whereas, the space that should be dedicated to the Kumeyaay People currently holds the title, "Tecolote Memorial Garden."

Whereas, The Tecolote Memorial Garden insufficiently serves to honor the Kumeyaay Nation.

Whereas, The Associated Students Senate of the 2015-2016 Academic year passed a Resolution calling for the prompt creation of a visible, centralized tribute honoring the Kumeyaay Nation.

Whereas, an appropriate and effective way to create this tribute is to re-imagine and rededicate an existing space that already serves to promote peace-building.

Be it Resolved, the Associated Students of the University of San Diego calls for the immediate change of the name of the Tecolote Memorial Garden to the Kumeyaay Garden,

Be it Further Resolved, the Kumeyaay Garden Committee will collaborate with the University and local artists to transform this space to better represent Kumeyaay values and show our respect for this local group in our San Diego community,

Be it Further Resolved, that this resolution shall be delivered for comment and action from Carmen Vazquez –Vice President for Student Affairs, Esteban del Rio – Associate Provost for Inclusion and Diversity, Vice President and Provost Andrew Allen, Ky Snyder – Vice President of Operations and Chief Operations Officer, Tim O'Malley – Vice President of University Relations, Tribal Liaison Persephone Lewis, and University President James T. Harris.

Shannan Conlon, Chair of the Inclusion & Diversity Senate Committee Shalin Shah, Associated Students Speaker of the Senate TJ Hodges, Associated Students President